Cinque Terre & Portovenere

The world-famous UNESCO World Heritage Site „Cinque Terre“ consists of five former fishermen villages Monterosso al Mare, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola and Riomaggiore. The inhabitants have built their houses close to each other in the cliffs and painted them with typical Ligurian colours red, orange and yellow. In terraced wineyards they produce the white wine „DOC Cinque Terre“. The five villages are connected by hiking paths from which you have a great panoramic view over  the "Gulf of Tigullio". The most famous path is the so called "Via Dell‘ Amore" which connects Riomaggiore and Manarola and enchants not only lovers with its charm. Another nice hiking path leads from Riomaggiore to Portovenere.

Portovenere belongs together with the Cinque Terre and the islands Palmaria, Tino and Tinetto too the UNESCO World Heritage Site. When you visit the Cinque Terre we recommend you to go by ferry boat to Portovenere. If you want to go further, you can go by boat from Portovenere to La Spezia or the islands Palmaria, Tino or Tinetto. Interesting spots in Portovenere are the fortress, the medieval church San Pietro, church San Lorenzo and the „Grotta di Byron“, a grot where the poet Byron loved to spend his time.